Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.



Pick an apple! 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide


KeyCue 6.4

Send Article to a Friend

With the update to version 6.4 of KeyCue, Ergonis has added an optional menu bar icon as another way to invoke the keyboard shortcut utility. If you’ve configured separate smaller tables for menu commands, system-wide hotkeys, and macros, clicking the menu bar icon enables you to see them in one large, combined table. The update also no longer displays the shortcut table if your mouse’s scroll wheel is operated while pressing modifier keys, puts a stop to popping up the shortcut window when zooming your screen with the scroll wheel, provides a workaround for an issue with Mission Control that displayed the shortcut table in a miniature desktop, correctly highlights shortcuts that don’t require modifier keys, and works around an issue with OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion where all items in the Services menu were displayed even if they weren’t available for the current situation. (€19.99 new with a 25-percent discount for TidBITS members, free update, 2.4 MB, release notes)


Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <>