Uncomplex has released Mailplane 3.1 with a number of improvements to the Gmail-specific email client. The update now enables you to switch between an unlimited number of Gmail accounts (previously, Mailplane limited you to 10 accounts), adds an option to suppress notifications of unread messages in the menu bar and the Dock (if you don’t need to see the count of unread messages taunting you everywhere you look), automatically hides the Gmail header when printing a message, fixes the Quick Look previews of Office documents in OS X 10.9 Mavericks, and fixes a bug with Google’s recently updated sign-in interface. ($24.95 new, free update, 17.2 MB, release notes)
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.