Econ Technologies has released ChronoSync 4.2 and ChronoAgent 1.2. Among the new features in these versions of the synchronization/backup software are new Trial Sync options, including additional file statistics, time estimates, and options for controlling and comparing files on both sides of the sync. Also, Econ Technologies enhanced scheduling options with Retry on Errors, which runs a sync again if errors occurred, and Sync Limits, which limits the number of syncs that can take place simultaneously to prevent too many from happening when a Mac rejoins a network. ChronoAgent also adds the capability to schedule ChronoSync Container Documents using the Sync When Available option. Full release notes for ChronoSync and ChronoAgent are available. ($40 new for ChronoSync, $10 new for ChronoAgent; free updates; 21 MB, 3.2 MB)
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.