Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Gartner Report Followup

Send Article to a Friend

Gartner Report Followup -- Many TidBITS readers wrote to ask where they can get their hands on the report from Gartner Group Consulting Services that found Macs cheaper to support than Windows machines (see TidBITS-299). Apple apparently may not be able to make the report available online (the rights are owned by the Gartner Group), but Apple has set up an automatic voice mail system at 800/232-9335 to take requests for physical copies of the report. Apple is working on ways to get the report to folks in countries besides the U.S. and Canada - stay tuned. [GD]

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>