Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

The Apple of Patent Trolls’ Eyes

Send Article to a Friend

According to the latest report from PatentFreedom, Apple is the company most targeted by “non-practicing entities” — better known as “patent trolls” — companies that collect patents but do not release products. Apple was targeted 171 times between 2009 and 30 June 2013. Next on the list is Hewlett Packard, which was pursued 137 times in the same time period, followed by Samsung, with 133. The attacks against Apple have risen, from 27 in 2009 to 44 in 2012 — a 63 percent increase.Generic Globefollow link