Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Tonya Engst Chats about iOS 7 and New iPhones on MacBreak Weekly

Send Article to a Friend

Our own Tonya Engst joined Andy Ihnatko, Mike Elgan, and Rene Ritchie on TWiT’s MacBreak Weekly to discuss iOS 7, the iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c, and whether it’s wise to bring a non-Apple phone to an Apple press event.favicon follow link