Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Administrivia

Send Article to a Friend

I never scoff at the occasional bit of serendipity, but I may laugh heartily at it. After Cary Lu's article, "Computing's Holy War," in TidBITS-283, the online version of Dilbert began to cover much the same topic. "What's Dilbert?" you ask. Check out the URL below, and then look at the cartoons in the two-week archive starting with the 950622 file. [ACE]

http://www.unitedmedia.com/comics/dilbert/

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to Zumba, Roy Patience, Richard A Mageau, and Mark
Martinez for their generous support!