Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

Allowing Games on Educational iPads Reduces Discipline Cases

Send Article to a Friend

In a piece analyzing the recent news reports about Los Angeles public school iPads being “hacked” by students, Apple Distinguished Educator Fraser Speirs shares the fact that deploying several games on the iPads given to students at the Cedars School of Excellence in Scotland caused “a dramatic drop in petty indiscipline cases” as students played games instead of acting out during boring times. Subsequently, game playing was replaced with more creative use.favicon follow link