Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Keyboard Maestro 6.4.1

Send Article to a Friend

Peter Lewis of Stairways Software has released Keyboard Maestro 6.4.1, updating the essential automation utility with a number of bug fixes — there are no feature changes. The update fixes potential crashes when undoing Execute AppleScript actions, creating custom icons, and processing text tokens; prevents time triggers from executing twice due to timer drift; addresses a bug that could partially cancel actions that followed an Exit From Loop; and more. ($36 new with a 20 percent discount for TidBITS members, free update, 24.4 MB, release notes)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>