Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Extract Directly from Time Machine

Normally you use Time Machine to restore lost data in a file like this: within the Time Machine interface, you go back to the time the file was not yet messed up, and you restore it to replace the file you have now.

You can also elect to keep both, but the restored file takes the name and place of the current one. So, if you have made changes since the backup took place that you would like to keep, they are lost, or you have to mess around a bit to merge changes, rename files, and trash the unwanted one.

As an alternative, you can browse the Time Machine backup volume directly in the Finder like any normal disk, navigate through the chronological backup hierarchy, and find the file which contains the lost content.

Once you've found it, you can open it and the current version of the file side-by-side, and copy information from Time Machine's version of the file into the current one, without losing any content you put in it since the backup was made.

Submitted by
Eolake Stobblehouse

 
 

Glenn Fleishman

Send Article to a Friend

Glenn Fleishman <glenn@popco.com> writes to tell us that Adobe has joined two other companies whose names start with A (Apple, with LaserWriter 8.0, and Aladdin, with StuffIt Expander 3.5) in releasing a product without removing code that made the betas expire. Thus, Adobe Photoshop 3.0 will self-destruct on 01-Jan-95 unless you run a patcher that Adobe promises to distribute by 10-Oct-94. We'll be sure to give a URL for that if we can find one. Adobe is recalling copies of Photoshop in the channel and will put out new boxes with a 3.0.1 sticker on them. [ACE]

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>