Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Sumex Mirrors, Speak Up!

Send Article to a Friend

Liam Breck <breck@kirk.ecs.umass.edu>, the Info-Mac moderator in charge the sumex reorganization, writes:

Attention administrators of Info-Mac mirror sites:

We are compiling a list of Info-Mac mirror sites around the world so we can inform users where else our archive can be reached and so we can stay in touch with our mirrors about important changes, such as the recent file list format change.

If you are in charge of, or closely associated with, an Info-Mac mirror site, please email me the following information:

  • site Internet address
  • site location (include organization, city, state, country)
  • email address(es) of site administrator(s)
  • name(s) of site administrator(s)
  • site disk capacity
  • site operating system
  • how much of the Info-Mac archive is available at site
  • how often site connects to Info-Mac for updates
  • method used to update site

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>