Poll Results: Ad-ing It Up -- Last week's release of Eudora 4.3 prompted us to ask what TidBITS readers thought about the option of applications displaying advertisements in exchange for enabling commercially available features. We received more than 850 responses which were decidedly split: 47 percent of respondents indicated they liked the idea at least a little, while 53 percent indicated they disliked or strongly disliked the idea. Discussion on TidBITS Talk also varied, although we understand this topic is difficult to nail down to specifics, since Eudora 4.3 is at the moment the only widely used application following this model - and it has been available for only a week. [GD]
Removing Photos from iPhoto
Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.
If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.
If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...
If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.