Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Poll Preview: Keeping It to Yourself

Send Article to a Friend

Poll Preview: Keeping It to Yourself -- The news media has lately been replete with stories detailing threats to consumer privacy: every day we hear about employers scanning company email, sites tracking every movement of users (and some advertising services tracking users' movements between sites!), or miscreants gaining access to home computers by guessing at an all-too-predictable password. So, this week our poll asks whether you use any specific tactics to protect your privacy online. Responses include using strong (not easily guessed) passwords, blocking or auditing cookies Web sites want to give you, using anonymous email or Web services, or using encryption to protect your data. Vote on our home page - and, yes, our polls are anonymous! [GD]

<http://www.tidbits.com/>

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>