Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Info-Mac Shutting Down for Two Weeks

Send Article to a Friend

Info-Mac Shutting Down for Two Weeks -- Beginning 12-Mar-97, the Info-Mac software archive and mailing list will be down for two weeks to allow the all-volunteer Info-Mac moderators to shift their operations from the venerable sumex-aim.stanford.edu to a new machine. No new uploads or digest messages will be accepted during this time, although Info-Mac mirrors worldwide will of course still be available. We'll put an announcement in TidBITS when Info-Mac is up and running at its new home at MIT. [GD]

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to David Ochander, Jean LeRoy, Denise Kusel, and Jerry
Nilson for their generous support!