If you’ve enabled iCloud Drive, be leery of using Settings > General > Reset > Reset All Settings to reset an iOS device, as doing so could erase at least some of your iCloud data. MacRumors has confirmed that activating that option after upgrading to iCloud Drive deletes all iWork documents stored in iCloud. However, iCloud documents that cannot be accessed by iOS, like those in Preview and TextEdit, appear to not be affected. Just another reason to hold off on upgrading to iCloud Drive until Apple works out the kinks.
Subscribe today so you don’t miss any TidBITS articles!
Every week you’ll get tech tips, in-depth reviews, and insightful news analysis for discerning Apple users. For 29 years, we’ve published professional, member-supported tech journalism that makes you smarter.
Registration confirmation will be emailed to you.