Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

OmniOutliner 3.10.2

Send Article to a Friend

New from The Omni Group is OmniOutliner 3.10.2, an update to its popular idea-organization software. Although this specific release addresses a single issue, the company has been hard at work over the last few releases to ensure compatibility with Mac OS X 10.7 Lion; as a result, OmniOutliner now fully supports the Auto Save, Versions, Resume and full-screen mode features of Apple’s newest desktop operating system. The latest version is rounded out by the usual collection of bug fixes and performance improvements. ($39.99/$69.99 new, free update, 16.4 MB, release notes)

 

Make friends and influence people by sponsoring TidBITS!
Put your company and products in front of tens of thousands of
savvy, committed Apple users who actually buy stuff.
More information: <http://tidbits.com/advertising.html>