Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 
 

Performa users

Send Article to a Friend

Performa users can go ahead and install System Update 3.0 on their System 7.1 equipped Macintosh Performas. A helpful project manager within Apple's Performa division confirmed for us that the update has been approved for Performa models running System 7.1P, 7.1P1, 7.1P2, 7.1P3, 7.1P4, 7.1P5 and 7.1P6. The update is not designed for use with System 7.0.1 or its Performa equivalent, so Performa 200 and 400 owners who haven't updated their system software should not install System Update 3.0. [MHA]

 

READERS LIKE YOU! Support TidBITS by becoming a member today!
Check out the perks at <http://tidbits.com/member_benefits.html>
Special thanks to nicky schleider, Joseph Worth, Robert Abdalian, and
Carl Lewis for their generous support!