Thoughtful, detailed coverage of the Mac, iPhone, and iPad, plus the best-selling Take Control ebooks.

 

 

Pick an apple! 
 
Removing Photos from iPhoto

Despite iPhoto's long history, many people continue to be confused about exactly what happens when you delete a photo. There are three possibilities.

If you delete a photo from an album, book, card, calendar, or saved slideshow, the photo is merely removed from that item and remains generally available in your iPhoto library.

If, however, you delete a photo while in Events or Photos view, that act moves the photo to iPhoto's Trash. It's still available, but...

If you then empty iPhoto's Trash, all photos in it will be deleted from the iPhoto library and from your hard disk.

Visit iPhoto '08: Visual QuickStart Guide

 

 

Related Articles

 

 

PTHPasteboard Returns, Better Late than Never

Send Article to a Friend

PTHPasteboard Returns, Better Late than Never -- Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger could ship any time, so the reign of Panther is nearly over. But users of Paul Haddad's free PTHPasteboard will be glad to hear the news anyway: PTHPasteboard, a wonderful free utility that keeps track of things you copy in any application so that you can paste any recently copied item later on (and not just the most recently copied item), has at last been updated for Panther.

<http://www.pth.com/PTHPasteboard/>

When Haddad went to work for You Software, the terms of his employment dictated that he had to stop working on PTHPasteboard (because the code was to be rolled into You Control). At that time, Panther had not yet emerged; when it did, it broke PTHPasteboard, and by the terms of his contract, Haddad wasn't allowed to fix it. Now, however, he has left You Software and brought the rights to PTHPasteboard with him. So, one of his first moves has been to make PTHPasteboard work on Panther. Next up: PTHPasteboard 4.0 for Tiger! [MAN]

<http://www.yousoftware.com/>
<http://www.yousoftware.com/control/ pasteboard.php>

 

CrashPlan is easy, secure backup that works everywhere. Back up
to your own drives, friends, and online with unlimited storage.
With 30 days free, backing up is one resolution you can keep.
Your life is digital; back it up! <http://tid.bl.it/code42-tb>